Auto accidents are treated under tort law. The at-fault driver is responsible for payment of medical expenses, lost wages and expenses related to the accident. Insurance coverage (and levels) may become very important in determining the at-fault driver’s ability to cover these expenses.
Drivers are required to carry minimal levels of insurance before they may drive. The minimum amounts required for liability coverage vary by state. Examples of minimum coverage are:
Alabama – 25/50/25
Tennessee – 25/50/15
Georgia – 25/50/25
For example, if the person who caused the accident resulting in your injuries carries the minimum in Alabama, your medical bills, lost wages and other damages related to the accident would be covered up to $25,000. The second number represents the total dollars that would be paid for all bodily injury claims in the accident ($50,000). The final number ($25,000) is the payment limit for property damage to another person’s property as the result of the accident.
There are a number of optional components that may be included in each insurance policy. The minimums above effectively cover injuries and property damage for the person (or persons) who are NOT at fault. Additional coverage is required to pay for the claims of the person who caused the accident.
The attorneys at Charles Pitman Attorneys at Law carefully reviews the insurance policies of everyone involved in an accident, and investigates all available avenues for full recovery of damages in your injury case.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an auto accident, contact the experienced accident and injury attorneys at Charles Pitman Attorneys at Law today by calling us toll-free at 855-4-PITMAN, or by submit an online case review form today.